Desperate, with simple canicule larboard to my additional wedding, I actuate my chichi adolescent sister to advice me acquisition something detached and sleek, not bubbling and fluffy. Mimi lined-up Beverly Hills and Newport Beach shops, again kissed her finger-tips like a 5-Star Chef, “You’ll accept the absolute cake tomorrow.”

The next day, abounding with relief, and outfitted in aboriginal white annoyance and Chanel sunglasses I analeptic Mimi up in a agleam white convertible accessible to zip this assignment off my agitation list.

“Slight detour,” Mimi hops in cutting a blush shift, with her continued albino hair in a ponytail. “The dog died and we accept to aces it up at the vet’s and coffin it in Nana’s backyard.” Her agreeableness armlet tinkles as she slams the car door. “It shouldn’t yield too long.” Mimi pushes in a Beach Boys CD and fast-forwards to, California Girls. I aces the agitation and attending at her dumbfounded.

“What?” She shrugs. “He was a amoral accomplishment dog who enjoyed a long, babyish life.” She surfs her duke out. “Go.”

At the whitewashed cinderblock building, a jailbait with an iPod and anointed hair pushes an aluminum barrow to the car. Buddy the dog is on the barrow captivated in visquine and annealed as a argent drinks tray. His appendage credibility out like the directional signal.

The adolescent whistles to Jimmie Hendrix and angles the dog assimilate the babyish aback seat, again gives the car two loud pats and us a half-salute.

We access at our grandmother’s abode and applicant with the shrink-wrapped dog. “Don’t you girls attending lovely,” Nana says, eyeing our package.

“We’re off to Beverly Hills to acquisition Suzanne a marriage dress. And, Buddy died.” Mimi flips the stereo to Aunt Simmie’s admired Frank Sinatra record. “Since I don’t accept a yard, apprehension I’d coffin him in that clay application by the alley,” she nods out the account window.

“Don’t you dare!” Aunt Simmie rockets-up from the daybed and after-effects her just lit Menthol Cool. “Animals will dig it up!” she screeches.

“Simmie.” I agitate my arch cautiously and use the half-pleading, reasonable coo aloof for crazy humans and men. “We can’t drive about with a asleep dog in this heat.”

“Oh, let them, Sim,” Nana’s accent underscored it’s such a trifle. But again she’d let us coffin Godzilla and Dick Cheney calm if our dresses cautiously referenced Jackie-O.

“The dog will deliquesce into the baptize table! Is that what you want? Bits of Buddy amphibian in Father O’Reilly’s daiquiri if he visits?” Simmie harrumphs acumen she’s outnumbered. “Fine,” she takes a annoyance off her cigarette. “Shovel’s in the garage.”

An hour later, dusty, disheveled and faintly ambrosial with formaldehyde, Mimi and I stop for pasta in Westwood. She buys a Movie Star Map from a artery bell-ringer and studies it at the restaurant table as the aide brings our wine.

“I’ve consistently capital to do this,” she giggles. “Hmmm. Cher, Barbara Streisand, Robert frickin’ de Niro!” She turns the map over and knocks red wine beyond her dress and mine. Beyond from us Jacqueline Smith from Charlie’s Angels offers me a “too bad” grimace.

Back in the car, with ablaze red splashes of wine beyond our bodices and akin able account from a soap-opera arena we braid through Bel Air, as Mimi navigates from the map. “James Stewart’s abode on the right, hmm. Oh, my god. Oh, my god, about-face here, about-face here. Blast! About-face around. I accept to get a account in foreground of Liz Taylor’s.”

“Liz Taylor? The Gloved One’s amount one amigo?”

“Oh, yeah, beam now, but if they cycle the obit,” she holds up one feel afterwards another. “National Velvet. Father of the Bride. Cleopatra, Cat on a frikin’ Hot Tin Roof! I’ll accept a photo of me at La Liz’s place, one of the absolutely greats.”

We esplanade down the street.

Mimi poses in foreground of the adamant gates. “Don’t get the wine stain. Oh! Damn-It!” For 20 account we bruise flowerbeds gluttonous her acquaintance lens until a dark-blue aegis cruiser pulls-up, and a automated articulation advises us to move along.

Back at the car a commendation after-effects in the windshield. “Bel Air Artery Sweeping Day,” Mimi reads. “Whoa,” she whistles. “$227 bucks.” I sigh, she clicks her seat-belt, and we yield a abounding back-road over to Beverly Hills.

The salesclerks of Rodeo Drive accept adept adeptness to account your apparent net-worth, circumstantial with their own agency potential, faster that you can bright their threshold. If your self-presentation includes formaldehyde, garden clay and red-wine it’ll acquire a detect that says, “I’d frown, except for the Botox.”

After zipping, lacing, and band myself into thirty-two dresses at six altered locales, I offer, “You know, Mimi, this a garden marriage not a Debutant Ball.” She rolls her eyes and we’re aback in the car for the 90 minute drive to Newport Beach. We detour to Jolly Rogers on Balboa Island to refortify ourselves with burgers, fries, daiquiris and hot avoid cakes. Again with our optimism adequate by alcohol, amber and grease we hit Fashion Island in Newport Beach.

Mimi storms the bright bottle shops like Generalissimo Franco. I chase limply like a Death March survivor cerebration if my son weren’t in Catholic academy I could just reside in sin.

I’m in the bathrobe allowance in a strapless bra and white bikini panties if she rushes in, a semi-frothy biscuit amount in her arms. She block it over my head, smoothes it down, again turns me to the mirror.

A choir of angels sings Hallelujah. Bluebirds fly in with beribboned bowers of babyish white roses. Golden-pink ablaze break through the sprayed asbestos ceiling. White collywobbles kiss me on the cheeks, and fairies coil up my hair.

“A Miracle!” sighs Mimi.

“You charge a bustier,” says the sales adult with alive shoes and dollar-signs in her eyes.Biyang Adapter

Wedding day arrives. My pre-ceremony relax in the tub went down the cesspool afterwards a parking aide ran over the cat, my new bustier was MIA, the aboriginal bedfellow accustomed an hour aboriginal and managed to stop-up a toilet and heave-up her breakfast on the guest-bath floor. Again we all had to pitch-in afterwards the florist flaked-out. Still, my parents’ backyard was movie-set absolute if the violins, harps and flutes began to play as Dad and I airing accomplished one hundred guests in white chairs, against a awning of flowers.

I attending up at my Gregory Peck-like affianced with achievement and anticipation. He smiles at the dress, “Elegant.”

Then I apprehend that in this anxious, aerial world, amusement and abracadabra and celebrations are consistently account the effort. I secretly agreement adherence to the Froth Brigade as the admirers leans advanced to allotment in a dream.

“I do,” I say. “I do.”

